main content starts here

Warwick students to be recognized at Sojourner Truth Awards Program 2016

on March 2, 2016

Thirty one Warwick Valley High School and Warwick Valley Middle School students will be recognized at the 26th annual Sojourner Truth Awards Program on Friday, March 11 at SUNY Orange in Middletown.

The Sojourner Truth Awards Program honors students from grades 6-12 who have excelled in areas such as athletics, citizenship, creative arts, diversity, English language arts, foreign languages, perseverance/effort, sciences, and technology. The program aims to promote education in a positive manner and to motivate students who are from groups that are traditionally under-represented in the college population to consider college as a viable and attainable goal.

In addition to speeches and the awards ceremony, the evening’s program will feature a presentation of colors by the Middletown High School Junior ROTC and entertainment by SUNY Orange students.

Sojourner Truth, for whom the program is named, is hailed as one of the most effective and powerful speech-makers of the 19th century. Born Isabella Bomefree about 1797 in Hurley, Isabella was sold four times, until she and her daughter were given their freedom in 1828. In 1843 she changed her name to Sojourner Truth to better reflect her chosen mission of traveling to tell people about the truth of slavery.


Sojourner Truth Awards 2016
Winners from the Warwick Valley Central School District

Warwick Valley High School

Emma Andoh – Diversity

Marquis Aquino – Citizenship

Vince Britton – Athletics

Daipaul Brown – Citizenship

Molly Byrne – Athletics

Ikoni Chiabi – Citizenship

Petra Chiabi – Diversity

Samantha Delgado – Perseverance/Effort

Deirdre Dunkin – English Language Arts

Jacqueline Dutan-Cabrera – Diversity

Kirk Kitson – Perseverance/Effort

Jack Lillian – Athletics

Christine McSweeney – Perseverance/Effort

Jason Nafash – Athletics

Thomas Nafash – Athletics

Hadriel Nunez – Perseverance/Effort

Octavio Olivar-Vargas – Perseverance/Effort

Eric Paez – Perseverance/Effort

Ayanna Pagan – Perseverance/Effort

Dominique Perkins – Creative Arts

Jennie Prial – Athletics

Natasha Pujols – Perseverance/Effort

Brian Ramirez – Perseverance/Effort

Olivia Sicherman – Creative Arts

Clayton Thompson – Citizenship

George Walters – Sciences

Wen Long Yang – Citizenship

Warwick Valley Middle School

Tyrek Bradford – Perseverance/Effort

Amelia Brown – Creative Arts

Miranda Ibbetson – Perseverance/Effort

Destiny Reyes – Perseverance/Effort

Gabriella Rusek – Athletics



If you enjoyed this article, subscribe now to receive more just like it.

Comments are closed.